Over the past few months, I’ve come across a lot of customers using Office 365 for their everyday email and work purposes, but then using a Google sheet for collaboration because they don’t know that Office365 can share and collaborte!! It wasn’t long ago that Google was the best way to collaborate, but I don’t think that’s the case anymore. Google is great for sharing, but the apps are simplified versions and if you need the full functionality of an Excel sheet with pivot tables and slicers and large amounts of data, then you really want to look at Office 365 instead.

Using Sharepoint and Onedrive in Office365 gives you complete collaboration tools with the full functionality of the Microsoft Office. Below are some steps you can use to Collaborate effectively. If you need any help with these, the I.T. Lady is more than happy to show you around, or set up your Sharepoint site if you don’t have it running yet.

It’s revolutionary I tell you!!

Cloud Storage in One Drive

Collaboration happens online, so the first step is to save your document in OneDrive.

When you save this document in OneDrive, you’ll be able to open it anywhere: on your computer, tablet, or phone. Your changes will be saved automatically.  Note, OneDrive is your personal cloud storage location and Sites is your company shared files drive.

Select File > Save As, select a OneDrive location, and give this document a name.Tip: When you’re signed in to Office you’re automatically signed you in to your OneDrive

Share your document

Now that this document is in OneDrive, you can share it. People you share it with won’t even need Word to open it (more on that later).

Select Share near the top of the window (keyboard shortcut: press Alt, then Z and S). Send the link by typing someone’s email address or by copying and pasting the link. You can choose whether or not to allow editing.

Edit at the same time

When recipients open your link, the document opens in their web browser, in Word/Excel/Powerpoint Online, so they can edit the document even if they don’t have Office installed.

People who would rather work in their Office app (Windows, Mac, iOS, or Android) can select Open in Word (Excel/Powerpoint etc), near the top of the Online window, and continue editing in their full verision app.

When someone is working in the document with you, you’ll all see each other’s edits. We call this coauthoring, or real-time collaboration

Everyone who is using Word Online or Word as part of an Office 365 subscription will see changes as they happen, and changes are saved automatically with AutoSave. If the people you’re sharing with are editing in an older version of the application, or if they’re not an Office 365 subscriber, they’ll have to save the document periodically to sync their changes with yours.

If you’re not seeing changes automatically, make sure AutoSave is switched on.

Start a conversation with comments

When you want to give feedback or ask questions, use comments to start a conversation that’s connected to the part of the document you’re talking about. Replying to comments lets you have a discussion, even when you’re not in the document at the same time as your colleagues.

On the Review tab, make sure Simple Markup or All Markup is selected so you can see the comment on this page. Then click in the comment and reply to it.


@mention someone in comments

When your document is stored in OneDrive for Business, you can call someone’s attention to a spot in your document by typing the @ symbol, followed by their name, when you make a comment. They’ll get email notifying them that you mentioned them, with a link to the comment in the document.

Make a new comment and @mention yourself (Remember, this only works if the document is in OneDrive for Business, and if you’re signed in to Outlook on your computer).

Keep track of changes

In Word, to stay on top of edits, use Track Changes to mark additions, deletions, and changes to formatting. When Track Changes is turned off, Word stops marking changes, but the marks it made while Track Changes was turned on are still in the document.

With changes marked in the document, you can selectively accept and reject each change, removing the markup and making the changes permanent.

To review the changes in your document, gGo to the Review tab, and then clickuse the arrow on the Accept button or the arrow on the Reject Previous and Next buttons to accept and reject changesgo from one change to the next. Undo a change with the Reject button, or make a change permanent with the Accept button.

Review changes in your document

Since your document is auto saving, there might be a time when you want to go back and view a previous version of your document.  To do that, use the drop down button to the right of the name of your document in the menu bar:

Click on the version History tab.  This will open a new window to the right and show you all of the saved versions of your document.  To go back to a previous version, simply click on the date / time.  This will open up another window with that version of the document so you can compare the changes.

Categories:

Tags:

Comments are closed

News Categories
Calender
April 2021
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930